rbzoqa.blogg.se

Symbol for x bar in microsoft word 2011
Symbol for x bar in microsoft word 2011











So she asked me.Įquations are one of the few areas in Word that I’ve never tackled, so, as I told Steph, it was all a new experience for me. She could get the line using Microsoft Word’s equation editor, but as she had to define what the D with the overbar/overline/overscore meant, she wanted to insert it into the Terms list too. So, what’s a macron? It’s a bar or line over the top of a word or letter, such as those used to indicate the mean in mathematical equations.Īnd why did I learn this word? Because Stephanie, one of my team’s authors, wanted a line over the top of her capital D. Jeremy Angolin’s Psychology and Statistics blog has a nice explanation of how to get started with LaTeX, along with quite a few resources.īut if, for now, you want to stick with Microsoft products, you’ll find the Equation Editor a BIG help.I learnt a new word the other day: macron. It does much more than write equations and would be worth learning if you’re doing some heavy-duty statistical writing.

  • Truly the best editor for writing mathematical documents that contain equations is LaTeX.
  • So the black italic Times Roman you get by default doesn’t always look pretty on, say, a Powerpoint slide where all the rest of the text is green Calibri.
  • One limitation is that you can’t edit the font or font color.
  • It looks like a fraction surrounded by parentheses, but without the line in the middle.
  • The one statistical notation I have needed and found it unable to do is a Choose function, as in (n choose p).
  • You can easily add fractions, subscripts, even symbols like the little bar over X.

    symbol for x bar in microsoft word 2011

    Insert–>Object–>Microsoft Equation 3.0 (the exact wording my differ in your version, but it should be close)Īn editor window will pop up. So, to insert a beautiful equation into Word, Powerpoint, or whatever Microsoft application you need, simply go to: She was thrilled at the ease and flexibility of it, so I thought I’d better share this. I just mentioned it to a client the other day. What saved me, years ago, is the Microsoft Equation Editor. Or a regression model equation? It’s possible, but it takes forever to subscript all those i’s and change the font of all your B’s to β’s. Have you ever tried to type a complex fraction, like a logit link, using Word, by lining up two rows of type?













    Symbol for x bar in microsoft word 2011